HYPERREALISM SCULPTURE
Ceci n'est pas un corps

After Bilbao, Canberra, Rotterdam and Liège, where it met with huge success, the travelling exhibition ‘Hyperrealism Sculpture. Ceci n'est pas un corps’ is coming to Brussels in an enriched version with some brand-new features. It needed a setting commensurate with the exceptional nature of the works presented: the recently and superbly restored Tour & Taxis fulfils this role marvellously.

‘Hyperrealism Sculpture. Ceci n’est pas un corps’ is an exhibition on hyperrealism, an art movement that began in the United States in the 1960s and whose techniques are still being explored by many contemporary artists.

The exhibition presents a series of hyperrealistic sculptures that undermine our vision on art. Reality, art or copy? The hyperrealist artist abandons the abstract and tries to create the most accurate representation of nature possible. They depict the human body so realistically that viewers start to wonder whether it is real. In this way, the works of art create a feeling of alienation, without losing any of their meaning.

The title of the exhibition refers to René Magritte's famous work 'Ceci n'est pas une pipe', which questions the relationship between art and reality. Some of the artists exhibited at Tour et Taxis strive to give the human body the most faithful and vivid representation possible, while others, on the contrary, question the notion of reality: new technologies, distorted popular portrayals, deformations...

Why can't you miss this international exhibition?

  • The exhibition brings together more than 40 sculptures, including several presented for the first time in Belgium, by leading international artists: George Segal, Ron Mueck, Maurizio Cattelan, Berlinde De Bruyckere, Duane Hanson, Carole A. Feuerman, John DeAndrea…
  • The artist Fabien Mérelle has taken over the new Gare Maritime with "A l'Origine", a monumental work not to be missed under any circumstances, a true totem of the exhibition.
  • An exhibition representative of an artistic movement as a whole that takes you to the frontiers of reality
  • Get a behind-the-scenes glimpse at the making of the artworks
  • Tour et Taxis is one stage of a world tour; it will then be presented in two other remarkable places: the Sucrière in Lyon and the Maillol Museum in Paris.

A coproduction between Tempora and Institut für Kulturaustausch

Artworks

Some works presented in this exhibition

Hyperrealism Sculpture
Ceci n'est pas un corps

Address

Tour & Taxis - Shed 4
1000 Brussels
Belgium

Contact

📠 Résa +32 (0)2 549.60.49
📠 Infos +32 (0)484.87.42.88
📧 info@expo-corps.com

Opening hours

Monday

Closed

Tuesday

10:00 - 18:00

Wednesday

10:00 - 18:00

Thursday

10:00 - 18:00

Friday

10:00 - 18:00

Saturday

10:00 - 18:00

Sunday

10:00 - 18:00

PUBLIC HOLIDAYS We will be open on all public holidays We are open every Monday during school holidays (10am - 6pm).

Contact us

HYPERREALISM SCULPTURE
Ceci n'est pas un corps

Après Bilbao, Canberra, Rotterdam et Liège où elle a connu un immense succès, l’exposition itinérante « Hyperrealism Sculpture. Ceci n’est pas un corps » s’arrête à Bruxelles dans une version enrichie et en partie inédite. Il fallait un écrin à la mesure du caractère exceptionnel des œuvres présentées : Tour & Taxis, récemment et superbement restaurée, remplit à merveille ce rôle.

L’hyperréalisme est un courant artistique apparu dans les années 1960 aux Etats-Unis et dont les techniques sont explorées depuis lors par de nombreux artistes contemporains.

L’exposition présente une série de sculptures qui ébranlent notre vision de l’art. Réalité, art ou copie? L’artiste hyperréaliste tourne le dos à l’abstraction et cherche à atteindre une représentation minutieuse de la nature au point que les spectateurs se demandent parfois s’ils ont affaire au corps vivant. Ces œuvres génèrent ainsi une sensation d’étrangeté, mais sont toujours porteuses de sens.

Le sous-titre de l’exposition fait référence à la célèbre œuvre de René Magritte « Ceci n’est pas une pipe », qui questionnait le rapport de l’art à la réalité. Certains artistes exposés à Tour et Taxis s’efforcent de donner du corps humain la représentation la plus fidèle et vivante possible tandis que  d’autres, au contraire, questionnent la notion de réalité : nouvelles technologies, représentations populaires détournées, déformations….

Les temps forts de l’exposition :

  • Le parcours rassemble plus de 40 sculptures d’artistes internationaux de premier plan dont plusieurs présentées pour la première fois en Belgique : George Segal, Ron Mueck, Maurizio Cattelan, Berlinde De Bruyckere, Duane Hanson, Carole A. Feuerman, John DeAndrea,…
  • L’artiste Fabien Mérelle a investi la Gare Maritime avec « A l’Origine », une oeuvre monumentale à ne manquer sous aucun prétexte, véritable totem de l’exposition.
  • Une exposition représentative d’un courant artistique dans son ensemble qui vous transporte aux frontières du réel
  • Certains secrets de fabrication des œuvres sont révélés par les artistes eux-mêmes.
  • Tour et Taxis est une étape d’une tournée mondiale ; elle sera ensuite présentée dans deux autres lieux remarquables : la Sucrière à Lyon et le Musée Maillol à Paris.

Une coproduction de Tempora et Institut für Kulturaustausch

Oeuvres

Quelques oeuvres présentées dans cette exposition

Hyperrealism Sculpture
Ceci n'est pas un corps

Adresse

Tour & Taxis - Shed 4
1000 Bruxelles
Belgique

Contact

📠 Résa +32 (0)2 549.60.49
📠 Infos +32 (0)484.87.42.88
📧 info@expo-corps.com

Horaires

Lundi

Fermé

Mardi

10H - 18H

Mercredi

10H - 18H

Jeudi

10H - 18H

Vendredi

10H - 18H

Samedi

10H - 18H

Dimanche

10H - 18H

JOURS FERIES Nous serons également ouvert tous les jours fériés et les lundis pendant les vacances scolaires (10H-18H).

Contactez-nous